Erwin to induct 2018 Hall of Fame class


By Clint Parker

EHS – In what will be the 10th Class of Inductees event Clyde A. Erwin High School will hold a ceremony on January 25, 2019 to honor four individuals and an entire team. The induction ceremony was to be held between the varsity girl’s and boy’s basketball games on Tuesday, Dec.11, in the school’s gym, but weather has forced a rescheduling of the event.

The following is the list of inductees that will become part of the school’s Hall of Fame at the ceremony:

First up is the 1980 NCHSAA State Champion Women’s Basketball Team. The team is the school’s only state champion team in Erwin’s history. Their overall record is 29-2 and they were the Big Mountain Athletic Conference Regular Season and Tournament Champions, NCHSAA District 8 Champions, NCHSAA Western Regional Champions, and NCHSAA 3A State Champions for that year.

Next up for induction is Erwin’s David Ball, Class of 1975. Ball ran cross country and played basketball and baseball. Ball would return to Erwin after college to be a teacher, coach and Athletic Administrator. Ball was all conference in basketball in 1975, and in baseball in 1974 and 1975.

He was Erwin’s baseball coach for 19 years, with a record of 286-160, making the state playoffs 13 of 19 years. He was Erwin’s Athletic Director for 17 years, NCHSAA Athletic Director of the Year in 2014, and received the NFHS Citation Award in 2014. Ball was inducted into the NCADA Hall of Fame in 2018.

Chris Hawkins (deceased), Class of 1980, is the next inductee. Hawkins played football, basketball and baseball for Erwin. Hawkins was all conference in baseball 1979 and 1980. He played on the conference champion football team in 1979 and baseball team in 1980. Hawkins was paralyzed from the chest down in 1984, and a golf tournament was started in his name and still continues six years after his death, donating thousands of dollars to local charities.

Also being inducted is Charlie Metcalf, Class of 1972. He was a football athlete and a coach. He lettered in football from 1970 – 1972, and won the Lion’s Club Sportsmanship Award in 1972. He was associated with 21 conference championships and one state championship as a football and golf Coach. Metcalf coached eight future NFL Players and numerous college players. He is currently a cancer survivor and radio color commentator for local football.

And last but not least is Rick Waldrop, Class of 1966. Another three sport athlete – football, basketball and track. He was both an athlete and coach. Waldrop earned 10 varsity letters in his three sports, played on the conference champion football team in 1963 and basketball in 1964 and 1966. He was all conference track in 1965 and 1966. Held the school’s high jump record for 20+ years and served 16 years as assistant coach in football and/or basketball from 1974 – 1990.

Congratulations to all the 2018 inductees.


Related Articles